## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

## SESSION LAW 2008-30 HOUSE BILL 2585

## AN ACT TO REMOVE THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWNS OF GRANITE QUARRY, KENANSVILLE, LILLINGTON, NASHVILLE, RICHLANDS, AND TROUTMAN.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:

"(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, <u>Granite Quarry</u>, Green Level, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, <u>Kenansville</u>, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, <u>Lillington</u>, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, <u>Nashville</u>, Oak Island, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, <u>Troutman</u>, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."

**SECTION 2.** For the Town of Richlands, G.S. 160-58.1(b)(5) shall not apply in the following described territory: All of Tax Parcel 62-1.4 and that part of Tax Parcel 62-1 that is north of a line starting 500 feet south of Rhodestown Road and running a 50 degree line to the back of Tax Parcel 62-1, all tax parcels as stated by the Onslow County records.

**SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 30<sup>th</sup> day of June, 2008.

- s/ Marc Basnight President Pro Tempore of the Senate
- s/ Joe Hackney

Speaker of the House of Representatives