GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

Η

HOUSE DRH80049-LMx-11* (12/06)

Short Title:	Roanoke Rapids/Weldon/Ahoskie Annexations.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Representatives L. Allen, Bryant, and Wray (Primary Sponsors).	
Referred to:		

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT TO REMOVE THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE
3	CITY OF ROANOKE RAPIDS AND THE TOWNS OF AHOSKIE AND
4	WELDON.
5	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
6	SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:
7	"(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following
8	standards:
9	
10	(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to
11	the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten
12	percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the
13	annexing city.
14	This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont,
15	Concord, Conover, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory,
16	Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern,
17	Newton, Oxford, Randleman, <u>Roanoke Rapids</u> , Rockingham, Sanford,
18	Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of
19	Ahoskie, Angier, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Burgaw, Calabash,
20	Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson,
21	Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly
22	Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg, Maggie
23	Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville,
24	Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton,
25	Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro,
26	Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Waynesville, <u>Weldon</u> , Wendell,
27	Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."

D

1

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.