# GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

### SENATE BILL 1802\*

1

(Public)

Short Title:	District 29B Judge/ADA Funds.	

Sponsors:Senator Apodaca.Referred to:Appropriations/Base Budget.

## May 24, 2006

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED				
2	AN ACT TO APPR	OPRIATE FUNDS TO E	STABLISH AN ADDITIONAL		
3	DISTRICT COURT JUDGESHIP IN DISTRICT 29B AND TWO ADDITIONAL				
4	ASSISTANT DISTRICT ATTORNEY POSITIONS AND TWO VICTIM				
5	WITNESS ASSISTANT POSITIONS IN PROSECUTORIAL DISTRICT 29.				
6	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:				
7	<b>SECTION 1.</b> G.S. 7A-133 reads as rewritten:				
8	"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additional				
9	seats of court	, by counties.			
10	(a) Each district of	court district shall have the nu	imbers of judges as set forth in the		
11	following table:				
12	District	Judges	County		
13	1	5	Camden		
14			Chowan		
15			Currituck		
16			Dare		
17			Gates		
18			Pasquotank		
19			Perquimans		
20	2	4	Martin		
21			Beaufort		
22			Tyrrell		
23			Hyde		
24			Washington		
25	3A	5	Pitt		
26	3B	5	Craven		
27			Pamlico		
28			Carteret		
29	4	8	Sampson		

General Assembly of North Carolina		Session 2005	
			Duplin
			Jones
			Onslow
	5	8	New Hanover
			Pender
	6A	2	Halifax
	6B	3	Northampton
			Bertie
			Hertford
	7	7	Nash
			Edgecombe
			Wilson
	8	6	Wayne
			Greene
			Lenoir
	9	4	Granville
			(part of Vance
			see subsection (b))
			Franklin
	9A	2	Person
	-		Caswell
	9B	2	Warren
	-		(part of Vance
			see subsection (b))
	10	15	Wake
	11	8	Harnett
		Ū	Johnston
			Lee
	12	9	Cumberland
	13	6	Bladen
		-	Brunswick
			Columbus
	14	6	Durham
	15A	4	Alamance
	15B	4	Orange
	102	·	Chatham
	16A	3	Scotland
	1011	5	Hoke
	16B	5	Robeson
	10 <b>D</b> 17A	2	Rockingham
	17B	4	Stokes
		т	Surry
	18	12	Guilford
	18 19A	4	Cabarrus

Gen	General Assembly of North Carolina		Session 20
	19B	6	Montgomery
			Moore
			Randolph
	19C	4	Rowan
	20A	4	Stanly
			Anson
			Richmond
	20B	3	Union
	21	9	Forsyth
	22	9	Alexander
		,	Davidson
			Davie
			Iredell
	23	4	Alleghany
		·	Ashe
			Wilkes
			Yadkin
	24	4	Avery
	<b>2</b> -T	Т	Madison
			Mitchell
			Watauga
			Yancey
	25	8	Burke
	25	0	Caldwell
			Catawba
	26	17	Mecklenburg
	20 27A	6	Gaston
	27B	4	Cleveland
	210	·	Lincoln
	28	6	Buncombe
	29A	3	McDowell
	2711	5	Rutherford
	29B	4- <u>5</u>	Henderson
	2)0	т <u>у</u>	Polk
			Transylvania
	30	5	Cherokee
	50	J	Clay
			Graham
			Haywood
			Jackson
			Macon
			Swain"

# General Assembly of North Carolina

1	SECT	<b>ION 2.</b> The Governor shall appoint the addi	tional district court judge
2	for District 29B a	authorized by this act, and that judge's succes	sor shall be elected in the
3	2008 election for	a four-year term commencing on the first Mo	onday in December 2008.
4	SECT	<b>ION 3.</b> G.S. 7A-60(a1) reads as rewritten:	
5	"(a1) The co	ounties of the State are organized into prosec	utorial districts, and each
6		ounties and the number of full-time assistant	
7	in the following t	able:	-
8	C		No. of Full-Time
9	Prosecutorial		Asst. District
10	District	Counties	Attorneys
11	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	10
12		Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	
13		Perquimans	
14	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,	6
15		Tyrrell, Washington	
16	3A	Pitt	9
17	3B	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	10
18	4	Duplin, Jones, Onslow,	14
19		Sampson	
20	5	New Hanover, Pender	14
21	6A	Halifax	4
22	6B	Bertie, Hertford,	4
23		Northampton	
24	7	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	16
25	8	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	11
26	9	Franklin, Granville,	11
27		Vance, Warren	
28	9A	Person, Caswell	4
29	10	Wake	31
30	11	Harnett, Johnston, Lee	14
31	12	Cumberland	18
32	13	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	11
33	14	Durham	13
34	15A	Alamance	8
35	15B	Orange, Chatham	7
36	16A	Scotland, Hoke	5
37	16B	Robeson	10
38	17A	Rockingham	5
39	17B	Stokes, Surry	5
40	18	Guilford	27
41	19A	Cabarrus	6
42	19B	Montgomery, Moore, Randolph	11
43	19C	Rowan	5
44	20	Anson, Richmond,	15

17

16

5

4

#### **General Assembly of North Carolina** Stanly, Union 1 2 21 Forsyth 3 22 Alexander, Davidson, Davie, 4 Iredell 5 23 Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes, 6 Yadkin 7 24 Avery, Madison, Mitchell,

8 Watauga, Yancey 9 25 Burke, Caldwell, Catawba 15 10 26 Mecklenburg 36 27A Gaston 12 11 12 27B Cleveland, 9 Lincoln 13 14 28 Buncombe 11 15 29 Henderson, McDowell, Polk, <del>11</del>13 16 Rutherford, Transylvania 17 30 Cherokee, Clay, Graham, 9 18 Haywood, Jackson, Macon, Swain." 19

SECTION 4. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of eighty-nine thousand one hundred seventy-two dollars (\$89,172) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the additional district court judgeship for District Court District 29B authorized by this act.

SECTION 5. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of one hundred sixty-nine thousand three hundred ninety-two dollars (\$169,392) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the two additional assistant district attorney positions for Prosecutorial District 29 authorized by this act.

**SECTION 6.** There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of ninety-six thousand seven hundred eight dollars (\$96,708) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish two additional victim witness assistant positions for Prosecutorial District 29.

32 SECTION 7. Section 1 of this act becomes effective December 15, 2006.
33 The remainder of this act becomes effective July 1, 2006.