## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

## HOUSE BILL 498 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO REMOVE THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF TAYLORSVILLE.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:

- "(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:
  - (5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord, Conover, Gastonia, Hickory, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Angier, Bladenboro, Calabash, Catawba, Creswell, Dallas, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Leland, Louisburg, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Pembroke, Pine Level, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Waynesville, Wendell, and Zebulon."

**SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 18<sup>th</sup> day of May, 2005.

Beverly E. Perdue
President of the Senate
I D DI I
James B. Black
Speaker of the House of Representatives