GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 2005 RATIFIED BILL

RESOLUTION 2005-5 HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 47

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE FOUNDERS OF CREEDMOOR ON THE TOWN'S 100^{TH} ANNIVERSARY.

Whereas, the Town of Creedmoor, located in southern Granville County, will be celebrating 100 years of incorporation on March 6, 2005; and

Whereas, the Town was established as Creedmore by the General Assembly on March 12, 1895, but was renamed Creedmoor when it was reincorporated in 1905; and

Whereas, the first officers of Creedmoor included Mayor Joseph L. Peed and Commissioners Dr. J. F. Sanderford, Isaac W. Bullock, S. C. Lyon, Claude V. Garner, and L. H. Longmire; and

Whereas, the citizens of Creedmoor have made significant contributions to the social, cultural, political, and economic prosperity of the State of North Carolina; and

Whereas, Creedmoor has continued to grow and prosper through the continued dedication, insight, and planning of the Town's concerned leaders and citizens; and

Whereas, plans have been made to celebrate the Town's historic anniversary on March 19, 2005, and during other times throughout the year; and

Whereas, this occasion is worthy of celebration and should be enjoyed and supported by all North Carolinians; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

SECTION 1. The General Assembly honors the memory of the founders of the Town of Creedonor and congratulates the Town on its 100th anniversary.

SECTION 2. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the Mayor of the Town of Creedmoor.

SECTION 3. This resolution is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 15th day of February, 2005.

Marc Basnight
President Pro Tempore of the Senate

James B. Black

Speaker of the House of Representatives