GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

Η

HOUSE BILL 2244

	Short Title: District 17.	. (Public)						
	Sponsors: Representative Cole.							
	Referred to: Appropriations.							
	May 22, 2006							
	111 <i>ay</i> 22, 2000							
1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED							
2	AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS TO ESTABLISH A NEW DISTRICT COURT							
3	JUDGE IN DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 17A.							
4	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:							
5	SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:							
6	"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additional							
7	seats of court, by counties.							
8	(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the							
9	following table:							
10	District	Judges	County					
11	1	5	Camden					
12			Chowan					
13			Currituck					
14			Dare					
15			Gates					
16 17			Pasquotank					
17 18	2	4	Perquimans Martin					
18 19	2	4	Beaufort					
19 20								
20 21			Tyrrell Hyde					
$\frac{21}{22}$			Washington					
22	3A	5	Pitt					
23 24	3B	5	Craven					
25	50	5	Pamlico					
26			Carteret					
20 27	4	8	Sampson					
28		-	Duplin					
29			Jones					
-								

Gen	eral Assembly of Nor	Session 2005	
			Onslow
	5	8	New Hanover
	U	U U	Pender
	6A	2	Halifax
	6B	3	Northampton
	00	5	Bertie
			Hertford
	7	7	Nash
	,	,	Edgecombe
			Wilson
	8	6	Wayne
	0	0	Greene
			Lenoir
	9	4	Granville
	7	4	
			(part of Vance
			see subsection (b))
	0.4	2	Franklin
	9A	2	Person
	0 D	2	Caswell
	9B	2	Warren
			(part of Vance
			see subsection (b))
	10	15	Wake
	11	8	Harnett
			Johnston
			Lee
	12	9	Cumberland
	13	6	Bladen
			Brunswick
			Columbus
	14	6	Durham
	15A	4	Alamance
	15B	4	Orange
			Chatham
	16A	3	Scotland
			Hoke
	16B	5	Robeson
	17A	<u>2</u> <u>3</u>	Rockingham
	17B	4	Stokes
	1,2	·	Surry
	18	12	Guilford
	19A	4	Cabarrus
	19R 19B	6	Montgomery
	1/0	0	Montgomery

G	eneral Assembly of Nor	Session 2005			
			Randolph		
	19C	4	Rowan		
	20A	4	Stanly		
			Anson		
			Richmond		
	20B	3	Union		
	21	9	Forsyth		
	22	9	Alexander		
			Davidson		
			Davie		
			Iredell		
	23	4	Alleghany		
			Ashe		
			Wilkes		
			Yadkin		
	24	4	Avery		
			Madison		
			Mitchell		
			Watauga		
			Yancey		
	25	8	Burke		
			Caldwell		
			Catawba		
	26	17	Mecklenburg		
	27A	6	Gaston		
	27B	4	Cleveland		
			Lincoln		
	28	6	Buncombe		
	29A	3	McDowell		
			Rutherford		
	29B	4	Henderson		
			Polk		
			Transylvania		
	30	5	Cherokee		
			Clay		
			Graham		
			Haywood		
			Jackson		
			Macon		
			Swain."		
	SECTION 2. The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge				
fo	for District 17A authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the				
			mencing on the first Monday in		
	December 2008				

43 2008 general en 44 December 2008. SECTION 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial
Department the sum of eighty-nine thousand one hundred seventy-two dollars (\$89,172)
for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the new district court judge for District Court
District 17A authorized by this act.
SECTION 4. This act becomes effective December 15, 2006, or the date

- 6 upon which Section 1 of this act is approved under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act,
- 7 whichever is later.