GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

H HOUSE DRH30472-LL-324 (05/17)

Short Title:	District 17A District Court Jud	ge Funds.	(Public)

Sponsors: Representative Cole.

Referred to:

4

5

6

7

8

9

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

2 AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS TO ESTABLISH A NEW DISTRICT COURT JUDGE IN DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 17A.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additional seats of court, by counties.

(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

10	District	Judges	County
11	1	5	Camden
12			Chowan
13			Currituck
14			Dare
15			Gates
16			Pasquotank
17			Perquimans
18	2	4	Martin
19			Beaufort
20			Tyrrell
21			Hyde
22			Washington
23	3A	5	Pitt
24	3B	5	Craven
25			Pamlico
26			Carteret
27	4	8	Sampson

Ge	neral Assembly of No	Session 2005	
1			Duplin
2			Jones
3			Onslow
4	5	8	New Hanover
5			Pender
6	6A	2	Halifax
7	6B	3	Northampton
8			Bertie
9			Hertford
10	7	7	Nash
11			Edgecombe
12			Wilson
13	8	6	Wayne
14			Greene
15			Lenoir
16	9	4	Granville
17			(part of Vance
18			see subsection (b))
19			Franklin
20	9A	2	Person
21			Caswell
22	9B	2	Warren
23			(part of Vance
24			see subsection (b))
25	10	15	Wake
26	11	8	Harnett
27			Johnston
28			Lee
29	12	9	Cumberland
30	13	6	Bladen
31			Brunswick
32			Columbus
33	14	6	Durham
34	15A	4	Alamance
35	15B	4	Orange
36			Chatham
37	16A	3	Scotland
38			Hoke
39	16B	5	Robeson
40	17A	<u>2</u> <u>3</u>	Rockingham
41	17B	<u>- =</u> 4	Stokes
42	-		Surry
43	18	12	Guilford
44	19A	4	Cabarrus
		·	

Page 2 H2244 [Filed]

Ge	neral Assembly of Nor	Session 2005	
1	19B	6	Montgomery
2			Moore
3			Randolph
4	19C	4	Rowan
5	20A	4	Stanly
6			Anson
7			Richmond
8	20B	3	Union
9	21	9	Forsyth
10	22	9	Alexander
11			Davidson
12			Davie
13			Iredell
14	23	4	Alleghany
15			Ashe
16			Wilkes
17			Yadkin
18	24	4	Avery
19	2.	•	Madison
20			Mitchell
21			Watauga
22			Yancey
23	25	8	Burke
24	23	O	Caldwell
25			Catawba
26	26	17	Mecklenburg
27	27A	6	Gaston
28	27B	4	Cleveland
29	270	7	Lincoln
30	28	6	Buncombe
31	29A	3	McDowell
32	23A	3	Rutherford
33	29B	4	Henderson
	29D	4	Polk
34			
35	20	5	Transylvania
36	30	3	Cherokee
37			Clay
38			Graham
39			Haywood
40			Jackson
41			Macon
42	GP 677 6 77 6 7		Swain."
43	SECTION 2.	The Governor shall appoi	int the additional district court judge

SECTION 2. The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge for District 17A authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the

44

H2244 [Filed] Page 3

3

4 5

6

7

8

9

1 2008 general election for a four-year term commencing on the first Monday in 2 December 2008.

SECTION 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of eighty-nine thousand one hundred seventy-two dollars (\$89,172) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the new district court judge for District Court District 17A authorized by this act.

SECTION 4. This act becomes effective December 15, 2006, or the date upon which Section 1 of this act is approved under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act, whichever is later.

Page 4 H2244 [Filed]