GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2003

SENATE BILL 417 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO EXTEND THE DEADLINE FOR WAYNE COUNTY TO DESIGNATE STAGGERED TERMS FOR ITS BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Section 2 of S.L. 2002-44 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 2. In 2004, four of the members of the Board of Commissioners of Wayne County shall be elected for four-year terms, and three of the members of the Board of Commissioners of Wayne County shall be elected for two-year terms. The Board of Commissioners of Wayne County shall, prior to January-September 1, 2003, designate which seats shall be elected in 2004 for four-year terms, and which shall be elected in 2004 for two-year terms. Successors to all seven seats elected in 2004 shall be elected to four-year terms."

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 20th day of May, 2003.

Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate

James B. Black Speaker of the House of Representatives