GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2003

HOUSE BILL 480 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR STAGGERED FOUR-YEAR TERMS FOR ALL FIVE MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF WILKES COUNTY, RATHER THAN THE CURRENT SYSTEM WHERE FOUR OF THE MEMBERS ARE ELECTED FOR STAGGERED FOUR-YEAR TERMS AND ONE FOR A TWO-YEAR TERM.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. In 2004 and quadrennially thereafter, three members of the Board of Commissioners of Wilkes County shall be elected for four-year terms. In 2006 and quadrennially thereafter, two members of the Board of Commissioners of Wilkes County shall be elected for four-year terms.

SECTION 2. Chapter 101 of the 1961 Session Laws and Chapter 217 of the 1963 Session Laws are repealed.

SECTION 3. This act is effective when it becomes law and does not affect the term of any current member.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 19th day of May, 2003.

Marc Basnight President Pro Tempore of the Senate

Richard T. Morgan Speaker of the House of Representatives