GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2001

S 3

SENATE BILL 617*

State and Local Government Committee Substitute Adopted 4/16/01 House Committee Substitute Favorable 5/14/01

Short Title:	Stovall Election Changes.	(Local)
Sponsors:		
Referred to:		

March 22, 2001

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT EXTENDING THE TERMS OF OFFICE FOR THE MAYOR AND TOWN COMMISSIONERS OF THE TOWN OF STOVALL AND STAGGERING THOSE TERMS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Sections 2.2 and 2.3 of the Charter of the Town of Stovall, being Chapter 596 of the 1979 Session Laws, read as rewritten:

"Section 2.2. Board of Commissioners; Composition; Terms of Office. The Board of Commissioners shall be composed of five members, each of whom shall be elected for terms of two-four years in the manner provided by Article III of this Charter; provided, they shall serve until their successors are elected and qualified.

"Section 2.3. Election of the Mayor; Term of Office; Duties. The Mayor shall be elected directly by voters of the Town in the manner provided by Article III of this Charter for a term of two-four years; provided, the Mayor shall serve until his successor is elected and qualified. The Mayor shall be the official head of the Town government and shall preside at all meetings of the Board of Commissioners. He shall have the right to vote only if there are equal numbers of votes in the affirmative and the negative on any matter before the Board. The Mayor shall exercise such powers and perform such duties as presently are or hereafter may be conferred upon him by the General Statutes of North Carolina, by this Charter, and by the ordinances of the Town."

SECTION 2. Section 3.2 of the Charter of the Town of Stovall, being Chapter 596 of the 1979 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:

"Section 3.2. Election of the Board of Commissioners; Election of Mayor. At the regular municipal election in 1979 and every two years thereafter, there shall be elected a Mayor and five Commissioners to fill the seats of the Mayor and Commissioners whose terms are then expiring. The Commissioners and Mayor shall be elected to four-year terms by the qualified voters of the entire Town, except as otherwise provided in this section. In 2001, and quadrennially thereafter, a Mayor shall be elected to a four-

- year term. In 2001, for the position of Commissioner, the two persons receiving the highest numbers of votes shall be elected to four-year terms, and the three persons
- 3 receiving the next highest numbers of votes shall be elected to two-year terms. In 2003,
- 4 and quadrennially thereafter, three persons shall be elected to four-year terms. In 2005,
- 5 and quadrennially thereafter, two persons shall be elected to four-year terms."
- 6 **SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law.