GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1999

S 1

SENATE BILL 851*

Short Title: N.H./Pender Judicial Districts. (Public)

Sponsors: Senators Jordan; and Ballantine.

Referred to: Judiciary II.

April 13, 1999

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT TO DIVIDE SUPERIOR COURT DISTRICT 5 INTO A SET OF DISTRICTS.
3	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
4	Section 1. G.S. 7A-41(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) The counties of the State are organized into judicial divisions and superior court districts, and each superior court district has the counties, and the number of regular resident superior court judges set forth in the following table, and for districts of less than a whole county, as set out in subsection (b) of this section:

9		Superior		
10	Judicial	Court		No. of Resident
11	Division	District	Counties	Judges
12				
13	First	1	Camden, Chowan,	2
14			Currituck,	
15			Dare, Gates,	
16			Pasquotank,	
17			Perquimans	
18		2	Beaufort, Hyde,	1
19			Martin,	
20			Tyrrell, Washington	

5

6

7

8

	GENERAI	L ASSEMBL	Y OF NORTH CAROLINA		1999
1		3A	Pitt	2	
2		3B	Carteret, Craven,	2 2	
3			Pamlico		
4		4A	Duplin, Jones,	1	
5			Sampson		
6		4B	Onslow	1	
7		<u> 55A</u>	(part of New Hanover,	<u>3-1</u>	
8			part of Pender		
9			see subsection (b))		
10		<u>5B</u>	(part of New Hanover,	<u>1</u>	
11			part of Pender		
12			see subsection (b))		
13		<u>5C</u>	(part of New Hanover	<u>1</u>	
14			see subsection (b))		
15		6A	Halifax	1	
16		6B	Bertie, Hertford,	1	
17			Northampton		
18		7A	Nash	1	
19		7B	(part of Wilson,	1	
20			part of Edgecombe,		
21			see subsection (b))		
22		7C	(part of Wilson,	1	
23			part of Edgecombe,		
24			see subsection (b))		
25		8A	Lenoir and Greene	1	
26		8B	Wayne	1	
27	Second	9	Franklin, Granville,	2	
28			Vance, Warren		
29		9A	Person, Caswell	1	
30		10A	(part of Wake,	2	
31			see subsection (b))		
32		10B	(part of Wake,	2	
33			see subsection (b))		
34		10C	(part of Wake,	1	
35			see subsection (b))		
36		10D	(part of Wake,	1	
37			see subsection (b))	_	
38		11A	Harnett,	1	
39			Lee		
40		11B	Johnston	1	
41		12A	(part of Cumberland,	1	
42			see subsection (b))	_	
43		12B	(part of Cumberland,	1	

	GENERA	AL ASSEMBL	Y OF NORTH CAROLINA	
1			see subsection (b))	
2		12C	(part of Cumberland,	2
3			see subsection (b))	
4		13	Bladen, Brunswick,	2
5			Columbus	
6		14A	(part of Durham,	1
7			see subsection (b))	
8		14B	(part of Durham,	3
9			see subsection (b))	
)		15A	Alamance	2
1		15B	Orange, Chatham	1
2		16A	Scotland, Hoke	1
3		16B	Robeson	2
4	Third	17A	Rockingham	2
5		17B	Stokes, Surry	2
6		18A	(part of Guilford,	1
7			see subsection (b))	
8		18B	(part of Guilford,	1
9			see subsection (b))	
)		18C	(part of Guilford,	1
1			see subsection (b))	
2		18D	(part of Guilford,	1
3			see subsection (b))	
4		18E	(part of Guilford,	1
5			see subsection (b))	
6		19A	Cabarrus	1
7		19B	Montgomery,_	2
8			Moore,	
9			Randolph	
)		19C	Rowan	1
1		20A	Anson,	1
2			Richmond	
3		20B	Stanly, Union	2
4		21A	(part of Forsyth,	1
5			see subsection (b))	
6		21B	(part of Forsyth,	1
7			see subsection (b))	
8		21C	(part of Forsyth,	1
9			see subsection (b))	
)		21D	(part of Forsyth,	1
1			see subsection (b))	
2		22	Alexander, Davidson,	2
3			Davie, Iredell	

1999

	GENER	AL ASSEMBL	Y OF NORTH CAROLINA	1999
1		23	Alleghany, Ashe,	1
2			Wilkes, Yadkin	
3	Fourth	24	Avery, Madison,	1
4			Mitchell,	
5			Watauga, Yancey	
6		25A	Burke, Caldwell	2
7		25B	Catawba	2
8		26A	(part of Mecklenburg,	2
9			see subsection (b))	
10		26B	(part of Mecklenburg,	2
11			see subsection (b))	
12		26C	(part of Mecklenburg,	2
13			see subsection (b))	
14		27A	Gaston	2
15		27B	Cleveland, Lincoln	2
16		28	Buncombe	2
17		29	Henderson,	2
18			McDowell, Polk,	
19			Rutherford,	
20		20.4	Transylvania	
21		30A	Cherokee, Clay,	1
22			Graham, Macon,	
23		200	Swain	1.0
24		30B	Haywood, Jackson	1"
25	1.	Section 2. G	.S. /A-41(b) is amended by ac	lding three new subdivisions to
26	read:	"(22) Sun	orian Court District 5A consist	a of the New Henever County
27				s of the New Hanover County Gear #2, Harnett #1, Harnett #4,
28 29				lmington #2, Wilmington #3,
30			——————————————————————————————————————	Vilmington #7, Wilmington #8,
31				Tilmington #15, Wilmington #19,
32				ists of the part of Block Group 6
33			-	aining Blocks 601B, 602B, 603,
34				618, 619; and the Pender County
35				umbia, Grady, Upper Holly, and
36		-	er Union. It has one judge.	umora, oracy, oppor mony, and
37				s of the New Hanover County
38		· / -		2, Harnett #5, the part of Harnett
39		-		rict 5A, Harnett #8, Wrightsville
40				ngton #12, Wilmington #13,
41			•	and the part of Harnett #3 that
42				1 of 1990 Census Tract 0119.01
43				106B, 107A, 107B, 107C, 107D,

1			and 108, the part of Block Group 1 of 1990 Census Tract 0119.02
2			containing Blocks 103, 104, and 114, and the part of Block Group 1
3			of 1990 Census Tract 0120.01 containing Blocks 101A, 101B, 101C,
4			101D, 102A, 102B, 103, 104, 105A, 105B, 115A, and 115B; and the
5			following precincts of Pender County: North Burgaw, South
6			Burgaw, Middle Holly, Long Creek, Penderlea, Lower Union,
7			Rocky Point, Lower Topsail, Upper Topsail, Scotts Hill, and Surf
8			City. It has one judge.
9		<u>(25)</u>	Superior Court District 5C consists of the part of New Hanover
10			County that is not in Superior Court Districts 5A or 5B. It has one
11			judge."
12		Section 3	G.S. 7A-41(c) is amended by adding a new subdivision to read:
13		"(<u>7)</u>	The names and boundaries of precincts in New Hanover and Pender
14			Counties are those in existence on May 1, 1999."
15		Section 4	. This act becomes effective January 1, 2003, and applies to the 2002
16	election.		