GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1999

H 1

HOUSE BILL 1513*

Short Title: Exclude CMAQ Funds From Formula.	(Public)
Sponsors: Representatives Saunders, Crawford; Alexander, Bridgeman, Earle, Luebke, and Melton.	Cunningham,
Referred to: Transportation.	

May 11, 2000

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO EXCLUDE FEDERAL CONGESTION MITIGATION AND AIR
QUALITY FUNDS FROM THE DISTRIBUTION FORMULA FOR FUNDS
EXPENDED ON TRANSPORTATION.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

6 7

8

9

10

11

12

13 14

15

16

17 18

19

Section 1. G.S. 136-17.2A(a) reads as rewritten:

- "(a) Funds expended for the Intrastate System projects listed in G.S. 136-179 and both State and federal-aid funds expended under the Transportation Improvement Program, other than federal congestion mitigation and air quality improvement program funds appropriated to the State by the United States pursuant to 23 U.S.C. § 104(b)(2) and 23 U.S.C. § 149, funds expended on an urban loop project listed in G.S. 136-180 and funds received through competitive awards or discretionary grants through federal appropriations either for local governments, transportation authorities, transit authorities, or the Department, shall be distributed throughout the State in accordance with this section.
 - (1) Distribution Region A consists of the following counties: Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson.

1	(2)	Distribution Region B consists of the following counties: Beaufort.
2	. ,	Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, New
3		Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, and Sampson.
4	(3)	Distribution Region C consists of the following counties: Bladen.
5	,	Columbus, Cumberland, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Harnett, Person.
6		Robeson, Vance, Wake, and Warren.
7	(4)	Distribution Region D consists of the following counties: Alamance.
8	,	Caswell, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Orange, Rockingham.
9		Rowan, and Stokes.
10	(5)	Distribution Region E consists of the following counties: Anson.
11	,	Cabarrus, Chatham, Hoke, Lee, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore,
12		Randolph, Richmond, Scotland, Stanly, and Union.
13	(6)	Distribution Region F consists of the following counties: Alexander,
14	, ,	Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell,
15		Lincoln, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yadkin.
16	(7)	Distribution Region G consists of the following counties: Buncombe,
17	, ,	Burke, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson,
18		Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain.
19		Transylvania, and Yancey."
20	Section	on 2. This act becomes effective July 1, 2000.