## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

## **SESSION 1997**

S 3

## SENATE BILL 169\*

Agriculture/Environment, Natural Resources Committee Substitute Adopted 4/22/97
House Committee Substitute Favorable 10/27/98

Short Title: Appointments.	(Public)
Sponsors:	<del></del>
Referred to:	

## February 17, 1997

- 1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
- 2 ACT TO APPOINT **PERSONS** TO PUBLIC **OFFICE UPON** THE OF **SPEAKER** OF 3 RECOMMENDATION THE THE HOUSE OF 4 REPRESENTATIVES.
  - Whereas, G.S. 120-121 authorizes the General Assembly to make certain appointments upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives; and Whereas, the Speaker of the House of Representatives has made recommendations; Now, therefore.
- 5 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
- Section 1. Jack Welborn of Wilkes County, Paul Smith of Rowan County, and James Gary Hyatt of Mitchell County are appointed to the North Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority for terms expiring June 30, 2001.
- 9 Section 2. Phillip D. Matthews of Wake County is appointed to the Alarm 10 Systems Licensing Board (public member) for a term expiring June 30, 2001.
- Section 3. Morris L. McGough of Buncombe County is appointed to the North Carolina Arboretum Board of Directors for a term expiring June 30, 2002.

2 3

1

4

5 6

7

8 9 10

11 12 13

> 14 15 16

17 18 19

20 21

> 22 23 24

25 26 27

28 29 30

31 32 33

34 35

36 37

38

39 40 41

42 43

- Section 4. Susan Hayes of Randolph County is appointed to the North Carolina Board of Dietetics and Nutrition to fill the unexpired term of Deborah Rosenquist, which expires June 30, 2000.
- Section 5. Kermit Williamson of Sampson County and Lee Stevens, Jr., of Robeson County are appointed to the Southeastern North Carolina Farmers Market Commission for terms expiring June 30, 2002.
- Section 6. Benny E. Scarbro of Yadkin County is appointed to the State Fire and Rescue Commission for a term expiring June 30, 2001.
- Section 7. Michael W. Haley of Guilford County and James R. Trotter of Wake County are appointed to the First Flight Centennial Commission for terms expiring June 30, 2000.
- Section 8. Cliff Gentry of Wake County (insurance representative) is appointed to the North Carolina Manufactured Housing Board to fill the unexpired term of Bob Doepke, which expires September 30, 2000. Judy Ward of Alamance County (finance representative) is appointed to the North Carolina Manufactured Housing Board to fill the unexpired term of Don Fuguay, which expires September 30, 2000.
- Section 9. Michael Holden of Moore County is appointed to the Board of Trustess of the Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major Medical Plan for a term expiring June 30, 2000.
- Section 10. Barbara McCullough of Moore County is appointed to the board of directors of the North Carolina Center for Nursing for a term expiring June 30, 2001.
- Section 11. Dr. G. Robert Horton of Moore County and Walt Israel of Gaston County are appointed to the North Carolina Parks and Recreation Authority for terms expiring June 30, 2000. Drane McCall of Forsyth County and Glenn Pope of Sampson County are appointed to the North Carolina Parks and Recreation Authority for terms expiring June 30, 1999.
- Section 12. Russell Williams of Rowan County is appointed to the North Carolina State Board of Examiners of Fee-Based Practicing Pastoral Counselors for a term expiring September 30, 2002.
- Section 13. Patrick Joyce of Carteret County is appointed to the North Carolina State Ports Authority for a term expiring June 30, 2000.
- Gregg Scott of Forsyth County is appointed to the Private Section 14. Protective Services Board for a term expiring June 30, 2001.
- Section 15. Steven Stadelman of Franklin County (licensed soil scientist) is appointed to the Soil Scientists Licensing Board for a term expiring June 30, 2001.
- Section 16. Dane Mastin of Wilkes County (sheriff position), David Keever of Mecklenburg County (CMRS provider), Frank Thomason of Rowan County (NC Chapter of Association of Public Safety Communications Officials), Pamela M. Tope of Wake County (CMRS provider), and Mike Watson of Wake County (CMRS provider) are appointed to the Wireless 911 Board for terms expiring June 30, 2002.
- Section 17. This act is effective when it becomes law. Unless otherwise specified, all appointments made by this act are for terms to begin when this act becomes