## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 1997

## SESSION LAW 1998-109 HOUSE BILL 1625

AN ACT TO PROVIDE THAT THE CHAIR OF THE HALIFAX TOURISM DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY SHALL BE ELECTED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE AUTHORITY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. Section 2 of Chapter 377 of the 1987 Session Laws reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 2. Tourism Development Authority.

(a) Appointment and membership. When the Board of Commissioners adopts a resolution levying a room occupancy tax under this act, it shall also adopt a resolution creating a county Tourism Development Authority, which shall be a public authority under the Local Government Budget and Fiscal Control Act. The resolution shall provide for the membership of the Authority including the members' qualifications and terms of office, and for the filling of vacancies on the Authority. The resolution shall provide that the chair of the Authority shall be elected by majority vote of the members of the Authority. The Board of Commissioners shall designate one member of the Authority as chair and shall determine the compensation, if any, to be paid to members of the Authority.

The Authority shall meet at the call of the chair and shall adopt rules of procedure to govern its meetings. The Finance Officer for Halifax County shall be the ex officio finance officer of the Authority.

- (b) Duties. The Authority shall promote travel, tourism, and conventions in the county, sponsor tourist-related events and activities in the county, and finance tourist-related capital projects in the county.
- (c) Reports. The Authority shall report quarterly and at the close of the fiscal year to the Board of County Commissioners on its receipts and expenditures for the preceding quarter and for the year in such detail as the Board may require."

Section 2. This act is effective January 1, 1998 and applies to terms of office beginning on or after that date.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 19th day of August, 1998.

s/ Dennis A. Wicker President of the Senate

s/ Harold J. Brubaker

Speaker of the House of Representatives