GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SECOND EXTRA SESSION 1996

CHAPTER 15 HOUSE BILL 61

- AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO PUBLIC OFFICE UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.
- Whereas, G.S. 120-121 authorizes the General Assembly to make certain appointments upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives; and

Whereas, the Speaker of the House of Representatives has made recommendations; Now, therefore,

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

- Section 1. Ms. Susan Goldstone of Forsyth County is appointed to the Acupuncture Licensing Board for a term expiring June 30, 1999.
- Sec. 2. Ms. Lois Jean O'Keefe of Carteret County, Mr. Robert J. Beason of New Hanover County, Mr. Daniel Martin, III of New Hanover County, and Mr. H. Edward Browning of Washington County are appointed to the North Carolina Aquariums Commission for terms expiring July 1, 2000.
- Sec. 3. Mrs. Anne Shumaker of Franklin County (parent member) is appointed to the Child Day Care Commission for a term expiring June 30, 1998.
- Sec. 4. Mrs. Ann Boney of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Board of Dietetics/Nutrition for a term expiring June 30, 1998.
- Sec. 5. Mr. McKeithan Jones of Robeson County and Mr. Joe Hege of Davidson County are appointed to the Southeastern North Carolina Farmers Market Commission for terms expiring July 1, 1999.
- Sec. 6. Mr. Joseph Meacci of Moore County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major Medical Plan for a term expiring June 30, 1998.
- Sec. 7. Ms. Suzanne Freeman of Mecklenburg County and Ms. Polly Godwin of Wake County are appointed to the North Carolina Center for Nursing Board of Directors for terms expiring June 30, 1999.
- Sec. 8. Dr. G. Robert Horton of Moore County and Ms. Drane McCall of Forsyth County are appointed to the North Carolina Parks and Recreation Authority for terms expiring June 30, 1998.
- Sec. 9. Mr. Patrick Joyce of Carteret County is appointed to the North Carolina State Ports Authority for a term expiring June 30, 1998.

- Sec. 10. Mr. Tobin Henry of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the Private Protective Services Board for a term expiring June 30, 1999.
- Sec. 11. Mr. Tom Keith of Cumberland County is appointed to the North Carolina Appraisal Board for a term expiring June 30, 1999.
- Sec. 12. Mr. Paul Powell of Wake County is appointed to the Rules Review Commission for a term expiring June 30, 1998.
- Sec. 13. Mr. Graham Cawthorne, Jr. (Public, nonsoils) of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Board for Licensing of Soil Scientists for a term expiring June 30, 1999.
- Sec. 14. Ms. Jeannie Metcalf of Forsyth County is appointed to the North Carolina Teaching Fellows Commission for a term expiring June 30, 2000.
- Sec. 15. Mr. Charles T. Wilson, Jr. of Durham County is appointed to the State Building Commission for a term expiring June 30, 1999.
- Sec. 15.1. Ms. Peggy Pruett of Forsyth County is appointed to the North Carolina State Board of Therapeutic Recreation Certification for a term expiring June 30, 1999.
 - Sec. 16. G.S. 93E-1-5(a) reads as rewritten:
- "(a) There is created the North Carolina Appraisal Board for the purposes set forth in this Chapter. The Board shall consist of seven members. The Governor shall appoint five members of the Board, and the General Assembly shall appoint two members in accordance with G.S. 120-121, one upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and one upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives. Each member appointed by the Governor shall be appointed from a different congressional district. The appointee recommended by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the appointees of the Governor shall be persons who have been engaged in the business of real estate appraising in this State for at least five years immediately preceding their appointment and are also State-licensed or State-certified real estate appraisers. No more than three-four of the appointees may be members of the same appraiser trade organization, group, or committee at any one time. The appointee recommended by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall be a person not involved directly or indirectly in the real estate, real estate appraisal, or the real estate lending industry. Members of the Board shall serve three-year terms, so staggered that the terms of three members expire in one year, the terms of two members expire in the next year, and the terms of two members expire in the third year of each three-year period. The members of the Board shall elect one of their members to serve as chairman of the Board for a term of one year. The Governor may remove any member of the Board appointed by the Governor for misconduct, incompetency, or neglect of duty. The General Assembly may remove any member appointed by it for the same reasons. Successors shall be appointed by the appointing authority making the original appointment. All vacancies occurring on the Board shall be filled, for the unexpired term, by the appointing authority making the original appointment. Vacancies in appointments made by the General Assembly shall be filled in accordance with G.S. 120-122. Initial terms of office commence July 1, 1994."

Sec. 16.1. G.S. 143B-313.2(a) reads as rewritten:

- "(a) Membership. The North Carolina Parks and Recreation Authority shall consist of nine-11 members. The members shall include persons who are knowledgeable about park and recreation issues in North Carolina or with expertise in finance. Three members shall be appointed by the Governor, three-four members shall be appointed by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives in accordance with G.S. 120-121, and three-four members shall be appointed by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate in accordance with G.S. 120-121. The members shall serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority. The Governor shall appoint one of the members to be Chair of the North Carolina Parks and Recreation Authority. Vacancies shall be appointed by the original appointing authority, and the term shall be for the balance of the unexpired term. The North Carolina Parks and Recreation Authority shall meet at a time and place as designated by the Chair, but no less frequently than quarterly."
- Sec. 17. Except as otherwise provided, all appointments made by this act are for terms commencing upon ratification.

Sec. 18. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 3rd day of August, 1996.

Dennis A. Wicker President of the Senate

Harold J. Brubaker Speaker of the House of Representatives