GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1995

H 1

HOUSE BILL 674

Short Title: Guilford Commissioners.	(Local)
Sponsors: Representative Wood.	_
Referred to: Local & Regional Government II.	

March 30, 1995

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO REDUCE FROM ELEVEN TO SEVEN THE NUMBER OF GUILFORD COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AND TO REDISTRICT THE GUILFORD COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

- Section 1. (a) Effective on the first Monday in December in 1996, the Board of Commissioners of Guilford County consists of seven members. The members shall be elected on a partisan basis at the time of the regular county primary and general elections. One shall be elected from each of seven single-member districts established under subsection (e) of this section.
- (b) In 1996 and every four years thereafter, members for Districts 3 and 4 shall be elected for four-year terms. In 1998 and every four years thereafter, members for Districts 1, 6, and 7 shall be elected to four-year terms. In 1998, the members from Districts 2 and 5 shall be elected to two-year terms, and in 2000 and every four years thereafter, successors shall be elected for four-year terms. Steve Arnold, who was elected in 1994 for a four-year term, is designated as the member from District 1 until the first Monday in December of 1994. Withers G. Dunovant, who was elected in 1994 for a four-year term, is designated as the member from District 5. Joe E. Bostic, Jr., who was elected in 1994 for a four-year term, is designated as the member

 from District 6. Warren Dorsett, who was elected in 1994 for a four-year term, is designated as the member from District 7.

- (c) The districts set out in subsection (e) of this section are devised and constituted to meet the requirements of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended, and other applicable constitutional provisions.
- (d) The qualified voters of each district shall elect the member of the board for that district. Candidates must reside in the district for which they seek to be elected.
- (e) The districts are as follows:

 (1) District 1 consists of Greensboro Precinct 43; High Point Precincts 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, 10, 15, 16, 17A, 17B, 20A, 20B, 23, 24A, 24B; and Deep River, Oak Ridge, and Stokesdale Precincts.

(2) District 2 consists of Greensboro Precincts 6, 8A, 8B, 23, 26A, 29, 42A, and 42B; High Point Precincts 5, 6, 7, 11, 12, 19, and 22; and Friendship 2 Precinct.

(3) District 3 consists of Greensboro Precincts 24A, 24B1, 24B2, 24C, 26B, 36A, and 36B; High Point Precincts 13, 14, 18, and 21; Jamestown Precincts 1, 2A, 2B, and 3; and North Sumner, South Sumner 1, and South Sumner 2.

(4) District 4 consists of Greensboro Precincts 33A and 33B; Fentress Precincts 1A, 1B, 2A, and 2B; and Gibsonville, Greene, North Clay, South Clay, North Jefferson 1, North Jefferson 2, South Jefferson, North Madison, South Madison, North Washington, South Washington, South Monroe 1, South Monroe 2, and Whitsett Precincts.

(5) District 5 consists of Greensboro Precincts 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16A, 16B, 17, 18, 28, 31, 35A, 35B, 35C, 40B, 41A, and 41B; and North Monroe, North Center Grove, and South Center Grove Precincts.

(6) District 6 consists of Greensboro Precincts 20, 21A, 21B, 22A, 22B, 27A, 27B, 27C, 32, 34A, 34B, 37A, 37B, 38, 39A, 39B, 40A1, and 40A2; Friendship Precincts 1A, 1B1, and 1B2, and North Bruce and South Bruce Precincts.

(7) District 7 consists of Greensboro Precincts 1A, 1B, 2, 3, 4, 5A, 5B, 7, 9, 14A, 14B, 19, 25, 30, 44, and 45.

(f) Precincts as mentioned in subsection (e) of this section are the official precincts of Guilford County as of April 1, 1995.

Sec. 2. If the Attorney General of the United States interposes objection to this act under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended, the Board of Commissioners of Guilford County shall enact an alternative plan for the election of the Board of Commissioners of Guilford County that:

(1) Provides for no more than seven commissioners; and

(2) Will meet the requirements of the Attorney General of the United States and shall submit that new plan to the Attorney General under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended.

Sec. 3. This act is effective upon ratification.