GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1995

H 2

HOUSE BILL 527 Second Edition Engrossed 4/5/95

Short Title: Divide Superior Ct. District 11.	(Public)	
Sponsors: Representatives Richardson and Creech.		
Referred to: Judiciary I.		

March 23, 1995

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED	
2	AN ACT TO DIVIDE SUPERIOR COURT DISTRICT 11 INTO DISTRICTS 11A	
3	AND 11B.	

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

4

5

6

7

8

9

Section 1. G.S. 7A-41(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) The counties of the State are organized into judicial divisions and superior court districts, and each superior court district has the counties, and the number of regular resident superior court judges set forth in the following table, and for districts of less than a whole county, as set out in subsection (b) of this section:

10		Superior	. ,	
11	Judicial	Court		No. of Resident
12	Division	District	Counties	Judges
13				
14	First	1	Camden, Chowan,	2
15			Currituck,	
16			Dare, Gates,	
17			Pasquotank,	
18			Perquimans	
19		2	Beaufort, Hyde,	1

1			Martin,	
2			Tyrrell, Washington	
3		3A	Pitt	2
4		3B	Carteret, Craven,	2 2
5		30	Pamlico	2
6		4A	Duplin, Jones,	1
7			Sampson	-
8		4B	Onslow	1
9		5	New Hanover,	3
10			Pender	
11		6A	Halifax	1
12		6B	Bertie, Hertford,	1
13			Northampton	
14		7A	Nash	1
15		7B	(part of Wilson,	1
16			part of Edgecombe,	
17			see subsection (b))	
18		7C	(part of Wilson,	1
19			part of Edgecombe,	
20			see subsection (b))	
21		8A	Lenoir and Greene	1
22		8B	Wayne	1
23	Second	9	Franklin, Granville,	2
24			Vance, Warren	
25		9A	Person, Caswell	1
26		10A	(part of Wake,	2
27			see subsection (b))	
28		10B	(part of Wake,	2
29			see subsection (b))	
30		10C	(part of Wake,	1
31			see subsection (b))	
32		10D	(part of Wake,	1
33			see subsection (b))	
34		11 11A	Harnett, Johnston,	2 - <u>1</u>
35			Lee	
36		<u>11B</u>	<u>Johnston</u>	<u>1</u> 1
37		12A	(part of Cumberland,	1
38			see subsection (b))	
39		12B	(part of Cumberland,	1
40			see subsection (b))	
41		12C	(part of Cumberland,	2
42			see subsection (b))	
43		13	Bladen, Brunswick,	2

GENERAL	ASSEMBLY (OF NORTH CAROLINA	
		Columbus	
	14A	(part of Durham,	1
	1 11 1	see subsection (b))	•
	14B	(part of Durham,	3
	1 112	see subsection (b))	3
	15A	Alamance	2
	15B	Orange, Chatham	1
	16A	Scotland, Hoke	1
	16B	Robeson	2
Third	17A	Rockingham	2
Tilliu	17B	Stokes, Surry	2
	17B 18A	(part of Guilford,	1
	10/4	see subsection (b))	1
	18B	(part of Guilford,	1
	10D	see subsection (b))	1
	18C	(part of Guilford,	1
	100	see subsection (b))	1
	18D	3 7 7	1
	19D	(part of Guilford,	1
	18E	see subsection (b))	1
	10E	(part of Guilford,	1
	10 4	see subsection (b))	1
	19A	Cabarrus	1
	19B	Montgomery,	1
	100	Randolph	1
	19C	Rowan	1
	20A	Anson, Moore,	2
	200	Richmond	2
	20B	Stanly, Union	2
	21A	(part of Forsyth,	1
	0.175	see subsection (b))	
	21B	(part of Forsyth,	1
	21.0	see subsection (b))	
	21C	(part of Forsyth,	1
	0.15	see subsection (b))	
	21D	(part of Forsyth,	1
		see subsection (b))	_
	22	Alexander, Davidson,	2
	•	Davie, Iredell	
	23	Alleghany, Ashe,	1
		Wilkes, Yadkin	
Fourth	24	Avery, Madison,	1
		Mitchell,	
		Watauga, Yancey	

1995

	GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA			1995
1	25A	Burke, Caldwell	2	
2	25B	Catawba	2	
3 4	26A	(part of Mecklenburg, see subsection (b))	2	
5 6	26B	(part of Mecklenburg, see subsection (b))	2	
7 8	26C	(part of Mecklenburg, see subsection (b))	2	
9	27A	Gaston	2	
10	27B	Cleveland, Lincoln	2	
11	28	Buncombe	2	
12	29	Henderson,	2	
13		McDowell, Polk,		
14		Rutherford,		
15		Transylvania		
16	30A	Cherokee, Clay,	1	
17		Graham, Macon,		
18		Swain		
19	30B	Haywood, Jackson	1."	

Sec. 2. (a) The superior court judgeship allocated to new District 11A in Section 1 of this act shall be filled by the superior court judge from current District 11 who resides in Harnett County. The term of that judge expires December 31, 1998. That judge's successor shall be elected in the 1998 general election.

(b) The superior court judgeship allocated to new District 11B in Section 1 of this act shall be filled by the superior court judge from current District 11 who resides in Johnston County. The term of that judge expires December 31, 1998. That judge's successor shall be elected in the 1998 general election.

Sec. 3. Sections 1 and 2 of this act become effective October 1, 1995, or the date upon which those sections are approved under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, whichever is later. The remainder of this act becomes effective October 1, 1995.