GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1993 SESSION

CHAPTER 69 HOUSE BILL 559

AN ACT TO MODIFY THE TRUSTEE ASSOCIATION REGIONS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM AND TO MAKE A TECHNICAL CHANGE TO THE PROCEDURE FOR ELECTING THE CHAIR AND OTHER OFFICERS OF THE STATE BOARD OF COMMUNITY COLLEGES.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. G.S. 115D-62 reads as rewritten:

"§ 115D-62. Trustee Association Regions.

The State is divided into six Trustee Association Regions as follows:

Region 1: The counties of Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Gaston, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, <u>Madison</u>, McDowell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, and Transylvania.

Region 2: The counties of Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Burke, <u>Cabarrus</u>, Caldwell, Catawba, Davie, Iredell, Madison, Mitchell, Rowan, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin, and Yancey.

Region 3: The counties of Alamance, Chatham, Davidson, Caswell, <u>Davie</u>, <u>Durham</u>, Forsyth, Franklin, Granville, Guilford, Orange, Person, Randolph, Rockingham, Stokes, Vance, Warren, and Wake.

Region 4: The counties of Anson, Cabarrus, Chatham, Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Richmond, Robeson, Scotland, Stanly, and Union.

Region 5: The counties of Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Columbus, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Sampson, and Wayne.

Region 6: The counties of Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Washington, and Wilson."

Sec. 2. G.S. 115D-2.1(f) reads as rewritten:

"(f) At its first meeting after July 1, 1981, and every two years thereafter, the State Board shall elect from its appointed or elected membership a chairman and such other officers as it may deem necessary."

Sec. 3. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 24th day of May, 1993.

Dennis A. Wicker President of the Senate

Daniel Blue, Jr. Speaker of the House of Representatives