GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1993

H 1

HOUSE BILL 1260*

Short Title: MLK Commission. (Public)	
Sponsors: Representatives Wainwright, Barnhill, D. Brown, Burton, Cummings, Cunningham, Fitch, Gist, Green, H. Hunter, Kennedy, Kinney, McAllister, Michaux, Oldham, and Wright.	
Referred to: Appropriations.	
May 5, 1993	
A BILL TO BE ENTITLED	
AN ACT TO ESTABLISH THE MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. COMMISSION.	
The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:	
Section 1. Article 9 of Chapter 143B of the General Statutes is amended by	
adding the following new Part:	
"PART 27A. MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. COMMISSION.	
"§ 143B-426.34A. Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission – creation; powers and	
duties.	
There is hereby created the Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission of the Department	
	on. The Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission shall have the following
functions and du	nties:
<u>(1)</u>	To encourage appropriate ceremonies and activities throughout the
	State relating to the observance of the legal holiday honoring Martin
	<u>Luther King, Jr.'s birthday;</u>
<u>(2)</u>	To provide advice and assistance to local governments and private
	organizations across the State with respect to the observance of such
	holiday; and
<u>(3)</u>	To promote among the people of North Carolina an awareness and
	appreciation of the life and work of Martin Luther King, Jr.
	IB. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Commission – members;
soloct	ion: augrum: compensation

1

2

4 5

6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13 14

15

16 17

18

19 20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29 30

31

32 33

- The Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission of the Department of Administration shall consist of 16 members. The Governor shall appoint 12 members, one of whom he shall designate as the chair of the Commission. The Governor shall make reasonable efforts to assure that his appointees are equally distributed geographically throughout the State. The President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall appoint two members and the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint two members. The terms of four of the members appointed by the Governor shall expire June 30, 1997. The terms of four of the members appointed by the Governor shall expire June 30, 1996. The terms of four of the members appointed by the Governor shall expire June 30, 1994. The terms of the members appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall expire June 30, 1995. At the end of the respective terms of office of the initial members of the Commission, the appointment of their successors shall be for terms of four years. No member of the Commission shall serve more than two consecutive terms. A member having served two consecutive terms shall be eligible for reappointment one year after the expiration of the second term. A member who fails to attend any three meetings of the Commission shall be dismissed automatically from the Commission upon failure to attend the third such meeting. Provided, however, that the Commission may, by majority vote, reinstate any such dismissed member for the remainder of the unexpired term for good cause shown for failing to attend the meetings. Vacancies shall be filled by the appointing officer for the unexpired term.
 - (b) A majority of the Commission shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.
 - (c) <u>Members of the Commission shall be compensated for their services as authorized by G.S. 138-5. Members of the Commission who are State officials or employees shall be reimbursed as authorized by G.S. 138-6.</u>
 - (d) The Department of Administration shall provide necessary clerical and administrative support services to the Commission."
 - Sec. 2. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Department of Administration the sum of seventy-five thousand dollars (\$75,000) for the 1993-94 fiscal year and the sum of seventy-five thousand dollars (\$75,000) for the 1994-95 fiscal year to implement this act.
 - Sec. 3. This act becomes effective July 1, 1993.