GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1991 SESSION

CHAPTER 714 SENATE BILL 62

AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE.

Whereas, G.S. 120-121 authorizes the General Assembly to make certain appointments to public offices upon the recommendation of the President of the Senate; and

Whereas, the President of the Senate has made his recommendations; Now, therefore,

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. Sanford W. Bailey of Wake County is appointed to the State Board of Transportation for a term to expire June 30, 1993.

Sec. 2. Joe Beck of Jackson County and James Robert McLester of Richmond County are appointed to the Low-Level Radioactive Waste Management Authority for terms to expire June 30, 1995.

Sec. 3. F.J. "Sonny"Faison of Sampson County and Edward T. Taws of Moore County are appointed to the North Carolina State Ports Authority for terms to expire June 30, 1993.

Sec. 4. Alfred L. Esposito of Forsyth County and Mike Youngblood of New Hanover County are appointed to the North Carolina Technological Development Authority for terms to expire June 30, 1995.

Sec. 5. Douglas S. Boykin of Pender County and Winston W. Pulliam of Buncombe County are appointed to the Environmental Management Commission for terms to expire June 30, 1993.

Sec. 6. A. A. "Dick"Adams of Pitt County is appointed to the Crime Victims' Compensation Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1995.

Sec. 7. Robert P. Holding, III of New Hanover County and David Smith of Nash County are appointed to the Board of Public Telecommunications Commissioners for terms to expire June 30, 1993.

Sec. 8. Ronald N. Barker of Forsyth County is appointed to the Sheriff's Education and Training Standards Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1993.

Sec. 9. John B. Coddington of New Hanover County is appointed to the North Carolina Board of Science and Technology for a term to expire June 30, 1993.

Sec. 10. Chester W. Crisp of Graham County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the North Carolina Public Employees Deferred Compensation Plan for a term to expire June 30, 1995.

Sec. 11. Robert G. Redmond of Franklin County is appointed to the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1993.

Sec. 12. Marleen A. Carter of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the Child Day Care Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1993. This is the public member categorical appointment. Dionne L. Shaw of Wake County is appointed to the Child Day Care Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1993. This is the categorical appointment for a parent of a child enrolled in day care.

Sec. 13. Harold Cummings of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Commission of Indian Affairs for a term to expire June 30, 1993.

Sec. 14. George W. Jackson of Person County and James B. Mallory of Iredell County are appointed to the Administrative Rules Review Commission for terms to expire June 30, 1993. David A. Harlowe of Durham County is appointed to the Administrative Rules Review Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1992.

Sec. 15. William Brantley of Nash County is appointed to the Governor's Advocacy Council for Persons with Disabilities for a term to expire June 30, 1993.

Sec. 16. Bobby Jones Crumley of Randolph County is appointed to the Private Protective Services Board for a term to expire June 30, 1994.

Sec. 17. Daniel B. Gray of Dare County is appointed to the North Carolina Seafood Industrial Park Authority for a term to expire June 30, 1993.

Sec. 18. Thomas F. Ellis of Wake County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of The University of North Carolina Center for Public Television for a term to expire June 30, 1993.

Sec. 19. George L. Bradley of Gaston County is appointed to the Governor's Waste Management Board for a term to expire June 30, 1993.

Sec. 20. James B. Powell of Alamance County is appointed to the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics Board of Trustees for a term to expire June 30, 1995.

Sec. 21. Thomas E. Ryan of Alamance county is appointed to the North Carolina Medical Database Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1994. This appointment is for the hospital administrator position.

Sec. 22. Marie T. Gardner of Nash County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the North Carolina Museum of Art for a term to expire June 30, 1993.

Sec. 23. Ronald Ernest Cohn of Wilkes County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major Medical Plan for a term to expire June 30, 1993. Deems H. Clifton of Sampson County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major Medical Plan for a term to expire June 30, 1992. These are the at-large categorical appointments. Donald Q. Pate of Wake County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major Medical Plan for a term to expire June 30, 1992. These are the at-large categorical appointments. Donald Q. Pate of Wake County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major Medical Plan for a term to expire June 30, 1993. This is the categorical appointment for a State employee.

Sec. 24. James S. Fulghum, III of Wake County and William R. Bolin of Henderson County are appointed to the Commission for Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse Services for terms to expire June 30, 1993. Sec. 25. Kenneth E. Morris, Jr. of Craven County is appointed to the Public Officers and Employees Liability Insurance Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1995.

Sec. 26. Doris L. Lail of Lincoln County is appointed Cochairman of the North Carolina Commission on School Facility Needs for a term to expire June 30, 1995. Jimmie R. Hutchens of Yadkin County, Sharon G. Shelton of Moore County, William Eugene Wilson of Watauga County, and John H. Weatherly of Cleveland County are appointed to the North Carolina Commission on School Facility Needs for terms to expire June 30, 1995.

Sec. 27. David G. Olmstead of Wake County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the Teachers' and State Employees' Retirement System for a term to expire June 30, 1993.

Sec. 28. Clyde T. Wood, Jr. of Cumberland County and M. Charles Mullen of Nash County are appointed to the North Carolina Housing Finance Agency Board of Directors for terms to expire June 30, 1993. These are the at-large categorical appointments. Donald B. Barnes of Wayne County is appointed to the North Carolina Housing Finance Agency Board of Directors for a term to expire June 30, 1995. This is the categorical appointment for someone with experience in savings and loan management.

Sec. 29. Sandra B. Grey of Cabarrus County is appointed to the State Board of Therapeutic Recreation Certification for a term to expire June 30, 1994. This is the categorical appointment for a public member.

Sec. 30. Thomas Richard Wright, Jr. of Wake County is appointed to the Property Tax Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1995.

Sec. 31. Johnny W. Shepherd of Lenoir County is appointed to the Teaching Fellows Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1995.

Sec. 32. Joseph A. Neisler, Jr. of Columbus County is appointed to the Wildlife Resources Commission for a term to expire April 24, 1993.

Sec. 33. Henry G. Williamson, Jr. of Wilson County is appointed to the State Banking Commission for a term to expire March 31, 1995.

Sec. 34. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 16th day of July, 1991.

James C. Gardner President of the Senate

Daniel Blue, Jr. Speaker of the House of Representatives