GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1991 SESSION

CHAPTER 696 HOUSE BILL 776

AN ACT TO PROVIDE THAT SIX MEMBERS OF THE WINSTON-SALEM/FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION SHALL BE ELECTED FROM DISTRICTS, AND THREE SHALL BE ELECTED AT LARGE.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. Section 2(a)(5)(ii) of Chapter 112, Session Laws of 1961, as rewritten by Chapter 466, Session Laws of 1985, reads as rewritten:

"(ii) Effective on the first Monday in December 1986, the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Board of Education shall be composed of nine members. In the <u>1986–1994</u> election and quadrennially thereafter, <u>five-nine</u> persons shall be elected to the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Board of Education for four-year terms. In the <u>1988–1992</u> election and quadrennially thereafter, four persons shall be elected to the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Board of Education for <u>four-year terms</u>. Persons shall be elected to the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Board of Education for <u>four-year terms</u>. Persons shall be elected to those seats as follows:

- (1) In 1992 two persons shall be elected each from Districts 1 and 2.
- (2) In 1994 and quadrennially thereafter, two persons shall be elected from District 1, four persons shall be elected from District 2, and three persons shall be elected at large from all of Forsyth County.

For the district seats, only residents of the district shall be eligible to be candidates and only qualified voters of the district shall be eligible to vote.

The districts as established for the purpose of this subparagraph are as follows:

District 1: Forsyth County: Broadbay #1 *, Middlefork #2 *, Middlefork #3 *, Ashley Middle School *, Brown/Douglas Recreation *, Brunson Elementary School *, Carver High School *, East Winston Library *, Easton Elementary School *, Forest Hill Fire Station *, Forest Pk. Elementary School *, 14th Street Recreation Center *, Hanes Community Center *, Happy Hill Recreation Center *, Hill Middle School *, Kennedy Middle School *, Lowrance Middle School *, M. L. King Recreation Center *, Memorial Coliseum *, Mineral Springs F. St *, Mt. Sinai Church *, New Hope United Methodist Church *, Old Town Presbyterian Church *, St. Andrews United Methodist *, Trinity Moravian Church *, Winston Lake Family YMCA *.

District 2: Forsyth County: Abbotts Creek #1 *, Abbotts Creek #2 *, Abbotts Creek #3 *, Belews Creek *, Bethania #1 *, Bethania #2 *, Bethania #3 *, Broadbay #2 *, Clemmonsville #1 *, Clemmonsville #2 *, Clemmonsville #3 *, Kernersville #1 *, Kernersville #2 *, Clemmonsville #3 *, Kernersville #2 *, Clemmonsville #3 *, Kernersville #4 *, Lewisville #1 *, Lewisville #2 *, Lewisville #3 *, Old Richmond *, Old Town #2 *, Old Town #3 *, Salem Chapel #1 *, Salem Chapel #2 *, South Fork #2 *, South Fork #3 *, Vienna #1 *, Vienna #2 *,

Vienna #3 *, Ardmore Baptist Church *, Bethabara Moravian Church *, Bible Wesleyan Church *, Bishop McGuinness *, Bolton Swimming Center *, Calvary Baptist Church *, Christ Moravian Church *, Country Club Fire St. *, Covenant Presbyterian Church *, First Christian Church *, Forsyth Tech W. Camp. *, Greek Orthodox Church *, Jefferson Elementary School *, Latham Elementary School *, Messiah Moravian Church *, Miller Park Recreation Center *, Mt. Tabor High School *, Parkland High School *, Parkway United Church *, Philo Middle School *, Polo Park Recreation Center *, Reynolds High School Gym *, Sherwood Forest Elementary School *, South Fork Elem School *, St. Anne's Episcopal Church *, Summit School *, Trinity United Methodist Church *, Whitaker Elementary School *.

District boundaries shall be as reported by the United States Bureau of the Census under Public Law 94-171 for the 1990 census, under the IVTD version of the TIGER files."

Sec. 2. The last sentence of Section 2(a)(5)(iii) of Chapter 112, Session Laws of 1961, as amended by Chapter 466, Session Laws of 1985, reads as rewritten:

"<u>For:</u>

- (1) <u>At-large seats, three The four or five</u> candidates of each party, depending on the number of persons being elected in a given year, who receive the highest number of votes shall be declared the nominees of their party, party in accordance with law; and
- (2) Each district seat, the candidates of each party shall be declared the nominees of their party in accordance with law

and there shall be no second primary election."

Sec. 3. This act does not affect the terms of office of persons serving on the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Board of Education for terms to expire in 1992 or 1994.

Sec. 4. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 15th day of July, 1991.

James C. Gardner President of the Senate

Daniel Blue, Jr. Speaker of the House of Representatives