GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1991 SESSION

CHAPTER 136 HOUSE BILL 637

AN ACT TO EXPAND AND REDISTRICT THE GUILFORD COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. (a) Effective on the first Monday of December, 1992, the Board of Commissioners of Guilford County consists of 11 members. The members shall be elected on a partisan basis at the time of the regular county primary and general elections. One shall be elected from each of nine single-member districts established under subsection (e) of this section, and two shall be elected at large from within the entirety of Guilford County.

(b) In 1992 and quadrennially thereafter, members for Districts 4, 5, 7, and 8 shall be elected for four-year terms. In 1992, members for Districts 3 and 6 shall be elected for two-year terms, and in 1994 and quadrennially thereafter, successors shall be elected for a four-year term. In 1994 and quadrennially thereafter, members for Districts 1, 2, and 9 shall be elected for a four-year term. W. Dean Dull who was elected in 1990 for a four-year term is designated as the member from District 1 until the first Monday in December of 1994. Steve Arnold who was elected in 1990 for a four-year term is designated as the member for a four-year term is designated as the member of 1994. Katie Dorsett who was elected in 1990 for a four-year term is designated as the member of 1994. In 1992 and quadrennially thereafter, two at-large candidates shall be elected for four-year terms.

(c) The districts set out in subsection (e) of this section are devised and constituted to meet the requirements of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended, and other applicable constitutional provisions.

(d) The qualified voters of each district shall elect the member of the board for that district. Candidates must reside in the district for which they seek to be elected.

- (e) The districts are as follows:
- (1) District 1 consists of High Point Precincts 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12, 17, 18, 21, and 22.
- (2) District 2 consists of High Point Precincts 1, 2, 4, 8, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16, 19, 20, 23 and 24, and Deep River.
- (3) District 3 consists of Greensboro Precincts 20, 27B, 27C, 34A, 34B, 37B, 38 and 39, and Bruce, North Center Grove, Friendship 1, Oak Ridge and Stokesdale.

- (4) District 4 consists of Greensboro Precincts 19, 35B, 35C, 40B and 45, and Gibsonville, GIB-G, North Jefferson, South Jefferson, North Madison, South Madison, North Monroe, South Monroe, North Washington and South Washington.
- (5) District 5 consists of Greensboro Precincts 24C and 43, and Clay, Fentress 1, Greene, Friendship 2, Jamestown 1, Jamestown 2, Jamestown 3, South Sumner and Whitsett.
- (6) District 6 consists of Greensboro Precincts 14, 17, 18, 22, 23, 24A, 26B and 36, and Fentress 2 and North Sumner.
- (7) District 7 consists of Greensboro Precincts 10, 11, 12, 13, 16, 21, 27A, 28, 31, 32, 35A, 37A, 40A, 41A and 41B, and South Center Grove.
- (8) District 8 consists of Greensboro Precincts 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 15, 24B, 25, 26A and 30.
- (9) District 9 consists of Greensboro Precincts 1, 3, 6, 8, 29, 33, 42 and 44.

(f) Precincts as mentioned in subsection (e) of this section are as reported by the Bureau of the Census under Public Law 94-171 for the 1990 Census.

Sec. 2. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 27th day of May, 1991.

James C. Gardner President of the Senate

Daniel Blue, Jr. Speaker of the House of Representatives