GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 1991

CHAPTER 806 HOUSE BILL 1344

AN ACT TO MODIFY THE PROVISIONS GOVERNING EXPENDITURE OF THE HYDE COUNTY OCCUPANCY TAX.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. Section 1(e) of Chapter 230 of the 1991 Session Laws reads as rewritten:

"(e) Use of tax revenue. Hyde County may use the proceeds of the occupancy tax for any public purpose. The county shall spend ninety percent (90%) of the proceeds collected on the mainland only for the direct benefit of the mainland. The board of commissioners shall appoint a five-member mainland advisory board whose members are all residents of the mainland. The board of commissioners shall set the terms of office of the members. The mainland advisory board shall advise the board of commissioners on the expenditure of tax proceeds for the direct benefit of the mainland. The county shall spend ninety percent (90%) of the proceeds collected on Ocracoke only for the direct benefit of the island. The board of commissioners shall appoint a five-member island advisory board whose members are all residents of the island. The board of commissioners shall appoint a five-member island advisory board whose members are all residents of the island. The board of commissioners shall appoint a five-member island advisory board whose members are all residents of the island. The board of commissioners shall appoint a five-member island advisory board whose members are all residents of the island. The board of commissioners shall appoint a five-member island advisory board whose members are all residents of the island. The board of commissioners shall be appointed upon the recommendation of the Ocracoke Civic and Business Association, Inc. The island advisory board shall advise the board of commissioners on the expenditure of tax proceeds for the direct benefit of the island."

Sec. 2. This act becomes effective July 1, 1992.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 30th day of June, 1992.

James C. Gardner President of the Senate

Daniel Blue, Jr. Speaker of the House of Representatives