§ 116-209.61. North Carolina Teaching Fellows Commission established; membership.

- (a) Commission Established. There is established the North Carolina Teaching Fellows Commission. The Commission shall determine program and forgivable loan recipient selection criteria and selection procedures and shall select the recipients to receive forgivable loans under the North Carolina Teaching Fellows Program in accordance with the requirements of this Part. The Director of the North Carolina Teaching Fellows Program shall appoint staff to the Commission.
- (b) Membership. The Commission shall consist of 14 members who shall be appointed or serve as ex officio members as follows:
 - (1) The Board of Governors of The University of North Carolina shall appoint seven members to the Commission in even-numbered years as follows:
 - a. Two deans of approved schools of education at postsecondary constituent institutions of The University of North Carolina.
 - b. The president of a North Carolina community college.
 - c. A teacher who graduated from an approved educator preparation program located in the State within three years of appointment to serve on the Commission.
 - d. A principal who graduated from an approved educator preparation program located in the State.
 - e. A local board of education member.
 - f. A member to represent business and industry in North Carolina.
 - (2) The General Assembly shall appoint two members to the Commission in odd-numbered years in accordance with G.S. 120-121 as follows:
 - a. One dean of an approved school of education at a private postsecondary institution operating in the State upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
 - b. One dean of an approved school of education at a private postsecondary institution operating in the State upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate.
 - (3) The following five members shall serve as ex officio members to the Commission:
 - a. The North Carolina Teacher of the Year.
 - b. The North Carolina Principal of the Year.
 - c. The North Carolina Superintendent of the Year.
 - d. The chair of the Board of the State Education Assistance Authority, or the chair's designee.
 - e. The Director of the North Carolina Teaching Fellows Program.
- (c) Terms of Office. Appointments to the Commission shall be for two-year terms, beginning July 1 and expiring June 30. Members serving ex officio, other than the chair of the Board of the State Education Assistance Authority and Director of the North Carolina Teaching Fellows Program, who have otherwise completed their term of service, shall continue to serve on the Commission until June 30, annually.
- (d) Vacancies. Except as otherwise provided, if a vacancy occurs in the membership of the Commission, the appointing authority shall appoint another person meeting the same qualifications to serve for the balance of the unexpired term.
- (e) Chair; Meetings. The Director of the Program shall call the first meeting of the Commission. The Commission members shall elect a chair and a vice-chair from the membership of the Commission to serve one-year terms. The Commission shall meet regularly at times and places deemed necessary by the chair or, in the absence of the chair, by the vice-chair.

G.S. 116-209.61 Page 1

- (f) Conflict of Interest. A member of the Commission shall abstain from voting on the selection of an educator preparation program of a postsecondary constituent institution of The University of North Carolina or a private postsecondary institution operating in the State under G.S. 116-209.62(f) if the member is an officer or employee of the institution or sits as a member of the institution's board of directors.
- (g) Expenses. Commission members shall receive per diem, subsistence, and travel allowances in accordance with G.S. 138-5 or G.S. 138-6, as appropriate. (2017-57, s. 10A.3; 2022-71, s. 3.4(g); 2023-102, s. 2(a).)

G.S. 116-209.61 Page 2